Club Races (2023 calendar)

Club Race Entry is now open here.

And Entry for the new Ards/North Down Inter Club League is open here. See also the ICL rules here.

Ards Cycling Club organises a full programme of club races for its members from April through to September. Time trials, where riders race individually against the clock, are a great introduction into the world of bike racing. When you get fitter, and more comfortable riding in a group, then you might want to try our club road races as well.

Most races take place on Tuesday evenings – the full 2023 calendar is listed below. Links to the courses, and the results, are on the calendar. Various trophies are awarded annually for competition in club races. Click here for more details of these. We’ll try to keep an up-to-date list of leaders in the results pages against each race. We also award medals for riders reaching certain standard times in time trials. For a list of the standard times for each age group, click here.

This year we’re running an inter-club league with North Down Cycling Club. More details will follow, but for now events in this league are included below (marked ICL).

2023 Club Calendar

Event Date&Time Location Distance Result
Tour of Ards 18 March, 10.00am Portaferry GAA Club  68 miles  Here
10K Straight In TT 4 April, 6:30pm Greyabbey 10km  Here
10 Mile TT 11 April, 7pm Millisle 10 miles  Postponed to 6/6
5 Mile TT 18 April, 7pm B’gowan Rd, Comber 5 miles  here
ArdsCC 10 Mile TT – ICL 25 April, 7pm Millisle 10 miles  here
Magreechan Cup/ 25 2 May, 7pm Millisle 25 miles  Postponed to 16/5
10k Straight in TT 9 May, 7pm Greyabbey 10 km  here
Magreechan Cup/ 25 16 May  Millisle  25 miles  here
Trail Quest 23 May, 6.30pm To be confirmed 90 minutes  here
NDCC Road Race ICL 24 May Ballyboley 27 miles  here
Road Race – ICL 30 May, 7pm Ballygowan 25.2 miles  here
10 Mile TT 6 June  Millisle  10 miles  here
Hill Climb 13 June, 7pm Scrabo Carpark 1.75 miles  here
Town Centre Races 21 June, 7pm Newtownards Various  here
Trail Quest 27 June, 6.30pm The Conservatory Cafe Balloo. 90 minutes  here
NDCC Killermeter ICL 28th June  Orlock  2 km  here
10 mile TT 4 July, 7pm Millisle  10 miles  here
Ards CC Road Race – ICL 25 July, 7pm Carrowdore 27.5 miles  here
10k Straight in TT 1 August, 7pm Greyabbey 10km  here
NDCC Road Race ICL 9 August Orlock  29 miles  here
5 Mile TT 22 August, 6:30pm B’gowan Rd, Comber 5 miles  here
Hill Climb 29 Aug, 6:30pm Bradshaw’s Brae 1 mile  here
Tour of Strangford 10 Sept, 10am Newtownards. 50/80 miles  here
Champ Of Champs TT 17 Sept (TBC), 9.00am Saltwater Brig Course 25 miles  Cancelled
 10 mile TT  25 Dec, 10am Portaferry Road 10 miles

For calendars and results from previous years, click here.