Andrew McCullough wins again

admin   July 1, 2014   Comments Off on Andrew McCullough wins again

Andrew McCullough (Kinning Cycles) won tonight’s club road race at Carrowdore, to add to his victory in our town centre races a couple of weeks ago. Second was the ever green Mark Kane (Dave Kane Northern) with Fraser Duncan (Dave Kane Northern) third and David Hamilton (Curran Racing) fourth. These four just held off the fast closing bunch, which was led in by Chris Richardson (Castlereagh) and our own Willy McMullan.

Forty riders signed on for 5 laps of the undulating Carrowdore 100 course. The scratch group, including Commonwealth Games selected rider Fraser, looked very strong. Despite being given a handicap of 4 minutes, they knocked out a couple of 11.30 laps (28mph) and had caught the front group in just 3 laps. The attacks then started, and the strong men ultimately emerged to fight it out for the win.

In the competition for the Ards CC road race trophy, Willy took maximum points, followed by Paul McMinn, Chris Lappin, Chris Brown, Richard Topping and James McFarlane. Richard Hanna and Geoff Brennan just missed out on the points. Willy now leads by just 3 points from Paul, with all to play for in the two remaining club road races.

Thanks as always to the marshals, time keepers, and judges.

Here are the current standings in the club road race competition.

Place Name 13/5 3/6 1/7 29/7 19/8 Total
1 Willy McMullan 10 10 20
2 Paul McMinn 10 7 17
3 Chris Lappin 7 5 12
4 Richard Topping 5 1 2 8
5 William Gill 7 7
6= Jack Anderson 5 5
6= Geoff Brennan 2 3 5
8= Chris Brown 3 3
8= Richard Hanna 1 2 3
8= Graeme Brown 3 3
11 James McFarlane 1 1