Marcus Christie breaks record at CoC

admin   August 15, 2021   Comments Off on Marcus Christie breaks record at CoC

Club president James McFarlane presents the legendary trophy to Marcus Christie

Marcus Christie (PerformanceSBR) put in a superb performance at the Champion of Champions 25 mile time trial this morning, breaking the course and event record. His time of 49:25 trimmed four seconds off George Peden’s record set last year, which in turn was 7 seconds faster than Chris Boardman’s record that had stood for 27 years.

The weather forecast hadn’t looked promising, which was perhaps a factor in the large number of “no-shows”, but the predicted headwind never really materialised and several riders set personal bests in the moist conditions.

Peter McLean and Alan Patterson – fourth and third respectively for Ards CC.

Second was Ross Hamilton (Orwell Wheelers CC) with 54:48, just ahead of the Ards CC pair of Alan Patterson (55:00) and Peter McLean (55:01). Peter was left rueing a broken front brake cable that led to a few exiting moments on the damp roads, but Alan was delighted with a big improvement to his personal best and a notable scalp.

Ciara Havern (Newry Wheelers) sprints for the line.

First lady was Ciara Havern (Newry Wheelers CC), who was 44 seconds faster than her winning time in 2019. Second was Catherine Mahoney (UCD Cycling Club) with 1:06:02.

But the day belonged to Marcus – over five minutes clear of the rest of the field, the second rider to beat the Boardman record we thought would never be beaten, and the new course record holder.

Name Club Cat Time H’Cap HC Pts McF pts
1 Marcus Christie PerformanceSBR Elite 0:49:25
2 Ross Hamilton Orwell Wheelers CC Elite 0:54:48
3 Alan Patterson Ards CC Elite 0:55:00 +176 10 10
4 Peter McLean Ards CC Elite 0:55:01 -104 3 7
5 Ian Donnelly Orwell Wheelers CC 0:55:55
6 Paul Carroll Velo Café Magasin M50 0:56:15
7 Barry Hayes Island Wheelers M50 0:57:47
8 James Gordon Phoenix CC Elite 0:58:20
9 Mark Gordon Newry Wheelers M40 0:59:20
10 Chris Wheeler Team Madigan CC M60 1:00:35
11 Jamie Gregg Dromore CC Elite 1:00:50
12 Philip Loughlin Banbridge CC M50 1:01:02
13 Samuel Cunningham Ballymoney CC M50 1:01:07
14 Kevin Briggs Ards CC M40 1:01:38 +47 7 5
15 Glen Curry Ards CC M40 1:02:27 +19 5 3
16 Adrian Kerr Ballymena Road Club M50 1:03:31
17 Michael Rowan Northern CC M60 1:04:06
18 Ciara Havern Newry Wheelers CC Elite 1:05:04
19 Catherine Mahoney UCD Cycling Club Elite 1:06:02
20 Martin Duffy Banbridge CC M50 1:08:33
21 John Downey Unattached Leinster Elite 1:09:15
22 Nigel McCullough Banbridge CC M50 1:11:30
23 Ryan Fegan North Down CC Elite 1:12:50
24 Alastair Martin Ards CC M50 1:28:41
  Andrew Jess Ards CC M50 DNF
  Emma Desmond Spellman-Dublin Port Elite DNF
  Jonathan Taylor North Down CC M40 DNF
  Aaron Watson Powerhouse Sport Elite DNS
  Anthony McConville Apollo Cycling Team M40 DNS
  Barry Mitchell Ards CC Elite DNS
  Cathriona O’Brien Breffni Wheelers Elite DNS
  David Ross Banbridge CC M40 DNS
  Dominic Drumm Bann Wheelers CC M60 DNS
  Erwin McKee Banbridge CC M40 DNS
  Lindsay Watson Powerhouse Sport Elite DNS
  Michael David Boyd Unattached Ulster M30 DNS
  Padraic O’Brien Breffni Wheelers M40 DNS
  Rory McIntyre Apollo Cycling Team M50 DNS

In the battle for Ards CC trophies, Peter McLean did enough to win the 25 mile handicap cup. He also won the McFarlane Cup (for all club 10 and 25 mile time trials on scratch) after his closest rival Barry Mitchell was unable to start today. The final standings are shown in the table below.

McFarlane Cup

No Name 27/4 11/5 6/7 20/7 15/8 Total
1 Peter McLean 10 10 10 7 37
2 Barry Mitchell 7 10 7 5 29
3 Alan Patterson 7 10 17
4 Marc Allen 2 5 5 12
5= Glenn Curry 3 2 3 8
5= Kevin Briggs 3 5 8
7 Andrew Hedley 7 7
8 Andrew McCullough 5 5
9= Ben Healey 1 2 3
9= Conor Hanna 3 3
9= Phil Doyle 3 3
12= Andrew Jess 2 2
12= James Lemon 1 1 2
13 Ian Carson 1 1

Thanks to all the marshals, time keepers and pusher off, and for the riders who continue to support this unique event and to add to the history books. Excellent!

Time to cool down and take a well earned afternoon off…