Peter does it again

admin   May 18, 2021   Comments Off on Peter does it again

As the wind dropped, Peter McLean stormed in to take his third club time trial win of the season in tonight’s 10k on the Portaferry Road. He was the only rider to dip under 13 minutes, recording 12:59. Given his great form in open events as well recently, he would surely have been in with a great chance of taking the Tour of Ards, had the club not unfortunately had to cancel it yesterday.

The fight for second place was incredibly close, with seven riders covered by just thirteen seconds. When the dust settled, it was last week’s winner Michael Boyd (unattached) who took second, followed by Luke Joyce (Bikehouse).

In the battle for Ards CC 10k handicap points, it was James Cairnduff who took the win, improving by nearly two and a half minutes on his previous personal best.

   Name Club Time H’Cap HC pts
1 Peter McLean Ards CC 12:59 +117 7
2 Michael David Boyd Un-Attached Ulster 13:40
3 Luke Joyce The Bike House CC 13:45
4 Daniel Daly Phoenix CC 13:46
5 Barry Mitchell Ards CC 13:47 -37
6 Andrew Hedley Ards CC 13:48 +48 5
7= Conor Hanna Ards CC 13:53 +4 2
7= William Larmour The Bike House CC 13:53
9 Andrew McCullough Ards CC 14:36 npt
10 Marc Allen Ards CC 14:37 -62
11 Ben Healey Ards CC 14:40 +6 3
12 Jonathan Taylor North Down CC 14:42
13 Enda Marron Northern CC 14:50
14 Glen Curry Ards CC 15:01 npt
15= Andrew Jess Ards CC 15:02 -51
15= James Alexander The Bike House CC 15:02
17 Maia Simmons Canyon Development Team 15:03
18 James Lemon Ards CC 15:21 -118
19 Mark Watson Ards CC 15:36 -170
20 James Cairnduff Ards CC 15:37 +144 10
21= Mark Hodgins North Down CC 15:51
21= William Orr Ards CC 15:51 -94
23 Aaron Fegan Un-Attached Ulster 15:52
24 Steve Core Ards CC 15:57 -18 1
25 Rachel Irvine The Bike House CC 16:00
26 Karen Hull Phoenix CC 16:09
27 Chloe Deyermond Ards CC 16:13 npt
28 Gillian Orr North Down CC 16:19
29 Nev Smyth Northern CC 16:40
30 Alan Rodgers Ards CC 16:48 -148
31 Colin Wilson Ards CC 17:13 -169
32 Ryan Fegan North Down CC 17:14
33 Joe-Anne Calvert Killinchy Cycling Club 17:31
34 Melissa Mc Carter Un-Attached Ulster 18:34
35 Pamela Ward VC Glendale 19:08
Anthony Day Ards CC  DNS
Glenn Kinning Kinning Cycles CC  DNS
Graeme Brown Ards CC  DNS
Karl Rockett Ards CC  DNS
Kieran Mc Kenna Un-Attached Ulster  DNS
Michael Rowan Northern CC  DNS
Phil Harris Killinchy Cycling Club  DNS
Richard Gibson Ards CC  DNS
Richard Hanna Ards CC  DNS

Thanks as always to the marshals and timekeepers. With the large number of riders taking part this year, please remember to shout your number as you finish, and please try not to warm up or warm down on the course – this will help reduce stress levels for the timekeepers.

It was great to see some other riders out on the course tonight, including our longest standing member Billy Kirk (84, and still riding regularly) and David Fowler (winner of the Tour of Ards 31 years ago).