Scrabo Hill Climb

admin   June 28, 2016   Comments Off on Scrabo Hill Climb

Seven brave men faced the time keeper for tonight’s hill climb from the old Ballycullen stop up to the Scrabo carpark. Conditions were good for climbing, with a slight tail wind on the steepest section.

Winner David Spalding

Fastest Ards man Gareth Murray











Fastest overall was visitor David Spalding (North Down CC) with a 5:13 (despite your correspondent’s attempts to send him to the wrong starting point…). He was just 6 seconds ahead of our own Gareth Murray. Both these riders were faster than last year’s winner.

Willy Gill was third

Luke Fulton fourth











The battle for third was also close, with William Gill (5:57) just shading it from Luke Fulton (6:05) and Richard Hanna (6:07). Roman Sarvas (6:37) took sixth place by just two seconds from Andrew Jess (6:39).

Richard Hanna was most fluorescent

Roman Sarvas










Thanks as always to the time keepers and marshals. Hopefully we’ll get a bigger field again next year. The spectators really enjoy it!

The descent was good fun too :-)

Andrew Jess