Willy wins Magreechan Cup

admin   June 7, 2016   Comments Off on Willy wins Magreechan Cup

John Carty (chairman), Bobby Magreechan, Willy Gill (third overall, first Ards), Keith Phillips (first overall), Richard Hanna (first unplaced Ards) and Ian Inglis (second overall)

On a warm, calm but humid evening, 12 riders faced the time keeper for the classic Portaferry and back time trial. Bobby Magreechan instigated this event in 1986, and after 30 years the “Magreechan Cup” is still one of the most prestigious club trophies in the club calendar.

Winner Keith Phillips

Fastest Ards rider Willy Gill








Fastest was Keith Phillips (North Down) with a very impressive 1:21:35. He was just over a minute ahead of regular visitor Ian Inglis (Black Rose) on 1:22:50. Fastest Ards man was Willy Gill with 1:25:38, a personal best for him on this course, and he once again wins the Magreechan Cup.

Bobby presents Willy with the Magreechan Cup

Richard Hanna was first unplaced Ards rider










Thanks to the marshals who ensured a safe event on the longest club race of the year and to the timekeepers.

Name Club Time
1 Keith Phillips North Down 1:21:35
2 Ian Inglis Black Rose 1:22:50
3 Willy Gill Ards CC 1:25:38
4 Richard Hanna Ards CC 1:28:10
5 Mark Watson Ards CC 1:29:41
6 Robin Millar Ards CC 1:30:00
7 Niall Brown Ards CC 1:31:19
8 Matt Ormeshier Ards CC 1:31:38
9 James Lemon North Down 1:31:58
10 Josh Porter Ards CC 1:35:19
11 Colin Wilson Ards CC 1:37:47
12 Alan Rodgers Ards CC 1:37:59