Christian Nachtigall wins Champion of Champions

admin   June 8, 2014   Comments Off on Christian Nachtigall wins Champion of Champions

Christian Nachtigall well chuffed at the finish

Christian Nachtigall (Phoenix) was an impressive winner of the Champion of Champions 25 mile Time Trial in 57:37.

Following torrential rain for most of Saturday, it was a relief to wake up this morning to see the sun peeking through, but there was still a strong breeze and Chris Boardman’s course and event record of 49:36 never looked in danger.

Second overall was Derek Ferguson (Kings Moss), with local speed merchant Robin Millar (Ards CC) taking third for the host club.



Derek Ferguson was second


Ards CC’s Robin Millar took third








Woman’s winner Keri Parton


Starting effort -from Mary Hunter


Gillian Orr riding to 3rd this year.


In the woman’s category, Keri Parton (Dromara CC) took the honours in a close battle with Mary Hunter (Sun Drive) and last year’s winner Gillian Orr (North Down CC)









This event also counts towards some of the Ards CC club trophies. Second Ards man on the day was Michael Rowan, just edging out William Orr.


Given the strong breeze, Michael decided to use his smaller 55×12 gear…


William Orr was third Ards CC rider



Time keepers Billy Kirk and Paul Robison. Trainee marshalls earned ice creams :-)








Thanks to time keepers Billy Kirk and Paul Robinson, pusher off David McNally, and to all the marshals – as always we couldn’t have done it without you.

The full result is below.



No. Name Club Time H’cap McF.
1 Christian Nachtigall Phoenix 57:37
2 Derek Ferguson Kings Moss 58:00
3 Robin Millar Ards CC 58:33 10 10
4 Alan Patterson Killinchy CC 1:00:00
5 Niall O’Gorman Phoenix 1:00:42
6 Jeremy Martin Team Madigan 1:05:02
7 Keri Parton Dromara CC 1:05:30
8 Mary Hunter Sun Drive 1:05:56
9 Andrew McCaulay Team Madigan 1:06:36
10 William Orr Ards CC 1:08:01 7 5
11 Gillian Orr NDCC 1:09:50
12 James Lemin Peninsula 1:10:55
13 Douglas Ruddick NDCC 1:12:20
14 Tony Blaney Ballymoney 1:13:41
Sean McIntyre Orchard DNF
Stuart Scott Team Madigan DNF
Private Michael Rowan Ards CC 1:06:35 5 7
Private Declan McMackin NDCC DNF