Darnell Moore wins Simon Brien Residential Tour of Ards

admin   April 2, 2022   Comments Off on Darnell Moore wins Simon Brien Residential Tour of Ards

Today saw a new chapter in the history of the Tour of Ards, sponsored this year by Simon Brien Residential. With the classic big loop route no longer feasible without police outrider support, we changed to a quieter, lap based race. The previous 80 rider field is also not permitted without police support, but splitting the event into two smaller fields suited the course well.

Darnell Moore receives the legendary Tommy Brown memorial trophy from Tommy’s great grand daughter Courtney Brown.

In the main A+/A1/A2 race over 75 miles, there was aggressive riding all day, but it was only in the final lap that Darnell Moore (Team Caldwell Cycles) managed to escape and repeat his victory of 2018.

Daire Feeley (Evopro Racing) took second 9 seconds later, with Luke Smith (Moynalty Cycling Club) third. Luke also took the King of the Hill prize. Stuart Millar was aggressive all day and took first Ards CC rider.

Name Club Time
1 Darnell Moore Team Caldwell Cycles 2:59:22
2 Daire Feeley Evopro 2:59:31
3 Luke Smith Moynalty CC 2:59:31
4 Gareth O’Neill Team Caldwell Cycles 2:59:33
5 Craig McAuley Team Caldwell Cycles 2:59:35
6 Lindsay Watson Powerhouse Sport 2:59:38
7 Nathan Mullan Dromara CC 2:59:50
8 Shay Donley Team Dan Morrissey – Pactimo 2:59:50
9 Odhran Doogan Team Caldwell Cycles 2:59:50
10 Peter Wakely Unattached Ulster 2:59:50
11 Robert Kennedy East Antrim CC 2:59:50
12 Vladislav Evseev All human/VelRevolution RT 2:59:50
13 Fergus Callaghan Four Master CC 2:59:50
14 Lee Harvey VC Gelndale 2:59:50
15 Timothy O’Regan All human/VelRevolution RT 2:59:50

There was a similar pattern of racing in the A3/Junior race over 50 miles, with Oisin Ferrity (Island Wheelers, and just home from Irish international duty at the junior Gent Wevelgem classic in Belgium last weekend), getting a slight gap on the run in to the finish. Another junior Darragh Doherty (VC Glendale) was second, with Mark Buchanan (inishowen Wheelers) third. Mark also took the king of the Hill prize.

Oisin Ferrity (Island Wheelers) hangs on to take victory in the A3/Junior race

Name Club Time
1 Oisin Ferrity Island Wheelers 2:14:42
2 Darragh Doherty VC Glendale 2:14:43
3 Mark Buchanan Inishowen 2:14:43
4 Conor Fitzgerald The Bike House CC 2:14:43
5 Matthew Pilgrim Dromara CC 2:14:43
6 Mark Kendall Banbridge CC 2:14:43
7 Peter Elliott Velo Club Iveagh 2:14:43
8 Gareth McBride North Down CC 2:14:43
9 Gavin Magowan Dromara CC 2:14:43
10 Matthew Kincaid Newry Wheelers CC 2:14:43
11 Tomas Knapcok Clogher Valley Wheelers 2:14:43
12 Francis Donnelly Banbridge CC 2:14:43
13 Jamie Moss Ballymena RC 2:14:43
14 Joseph Owens Team Caldwell Cycles 2:14:43
15 Daniel Purdy Banbridge CC 2:14:43

Thanks to everyone who made it such a great event –

  • Our sponsors – Simon Brien Residential, Bioracer and Brownfield Bike Repair and Restoration.
  • The Police, who had a couple of cars on the circuit.
  • All our freshly trained moto marshals and static marshals. With the recent change in legislation, trained marshals now have the authority to stop traffic for a bike race, and it was great to see our confident, well turned out marshals acting so professionally today to help keep the race safe.
  • Everyone who helped with driving – lead cars, commissaires and neutral service. That electric Volkswagen ID4 looked futuristic and environmentally sound at the front of a major bicycle race!
  • Race director Chris White, for designing an innovative and challenging circuit.
  • Ambulance.
  • Cardy Gospel hall.
  • The commissaires and the photo finish.
  • Tommy Brown’s great-grand-daughter Courtney Brown for presenting the legendary trophy.
  • And all the riders and supporters.

Our marshals looked confident and professional today, and did a brilliant job – thank you!

Here are some more photos from the A+/A1/A2 race

The riders assembled under clearing skies, after earlier rain.

After a neutralised rollout to Greyabbey, the race was officially started. 3 riders had a small gap at the boat club…

But the bunch was in close attendance.

At Ballyboley corner, after 10 miles, it was all together again

There were constant attacks – here just south of Ballywalter

Unfortunately the race missed the turn into Stump Road, and the commissaires neutralised it until everyone was back on course. Racing restarted just after this photo in Ballywalter.

The bunch was strung out on the climb out of Greyabbey on lap two, but the elastic wouldn’t break.

Onto Stump Road at racing speed on lap two.

Again, the bunch weren’t giving breakaways any leeway

Piling on the pressure again, at Blackabbey Road on Lap 3

Stuart Millar still looking strong and attentive near the front

Stuart attacks at the front going into Stump Road on lap 4

Darnell Moore takes a well deserved win after 5 laps.

Daire Feeley beats Luke Smith for third, followed Gareth O’Neil, Craig McAuley and Lindsay Watson in the background

Nathan Mullan leads in the bunch sprint for seventh, from Shay Donley

Stuart finished with the remnants of the bunch, after a strong showing in a high class field.

Luke Smith took third and the KOH prize.

And here are some more photos from the A3/Junior race

Kirk Sloan tries an attack from the start, to the delight of the Ards supporters

Some early flurries at Ballyatwood Road on the first lap

But the bunch were closing fast..

At full tilt coming out of Stump Road near the end of the first lap

More gaps at Greyabbey on lap two.

By lap two Stump Road was building a reputation…Class :-)

Kirk still looking attentive.

Another short lived attack near the end of lap 2

Ian Carson and Kirk Sloan looking relaxed in the chasing bunch

The speed’s on again coming out of Killyvolgan Road on lap 3

Legs were tiring on the final climb out of Greyabbey (lap 4)

Final time along Stump Road (from Windmill Hill)

And one final attack to the old windmill ..

But the bunch are wise to it….

Oisin Ferrity just holds on to take the win by 1 second ahead of the charging bunch

Darragh Doherty takes second from Mark Buchanan

Mark Buchanan was third and won the KOH


Winner Oisin Ferrity – one to watch for the future.

And my favourite photo of the day –

Thank you to everyone who makes events like this possible!