Champion of Champions 25 (updated pictures & result)

admin   August 13, 2017   Comments Off on Champion of Champions 25 (updated pictures & result)

Early starters lined up to face the time keeper

It was a perfect morning for time trialling – bright, warm, and with a rising southerly breeze to push the riders home – and the times certainly reflected that with the top 18 all breaking the hour. Fastest was Craig McAuley (Caldwell Cycles) – his time of 52:56 was faster than Graeme Obree’s winning time in the very first Champion of Champions 25 back in 1990, although he still has a little bit to go to beat Chris Boardman’s course and event record of 49:36, set in 1993.


Ever green Michael Rowan (Northern)


First man off was Graham McConnell (Dromara)









Not far behind were Patrick McKenna (Emyvale) and Sean Featherstone (Newry Wheelers), with previous winner Christian Nachtigall (Phoenix) just off the podium in 4th.


Ards regular Gillian Orr (North Down)


Mark Miller (Velo Cafe)






In the women’s category, Eileen Burns took her third straight win with an impressive 58:29. She was followed home by Lisa Lamont (Madigan) and Karen Hull (Phoenix).


Eileen Burns (Ballymena RC)


Niall Brown (Ards CC) looks focused










First Junior was Ronan Toomey (MSL Cork) with a very promising 56:33. Daryl Erwin (Ballymena RC) was fastest hand cycle Рhis time of 1:21:50 is particularly impressive given some of the climbs on the course.


Prize winners, from the left – Ronan Toomey (first Junior), Craig McAuley (fastest overall), Patrick McKenna (2nd overall), Eileen Burn (fastest women), Niall Brown (fastest Ards CC rider) and Sean Featherstone (3rd overall)

Thanks as always to the marshals, time keepers and pusher off who made the event possible, and for all the riders who help to make this event special.

Here’s the full result for the open race. I’d missed places 25-27 from the original posting – apologies for that. The results from the club 25, and the latest standings in the Ards CC club trophy competitions will follow later.

No. Name Club Time
1 Craig McAuley Caldwell 00:52:56
2 Patrick McKenna Emyvale 00:53:29
3 Sean Featherstone Newry Whlrs 00:54:03
4 Christian Nachtogall Phoenix 00:54:12
5 Lindsay Watson Powerhouse 00:54:33
6 Keith Philips North Down 00:54:52
7 Benny Smith Armagh 00:56:09
8 Ronan Toomey MSL Cork 00:56:33
9 Daniel Daly Phoenix 00:57:15
10 Rodney Stewart Unattached 00:57:19
11 Barry Hayes Island 00:57:39
12 Martin Colgan Armagh 00:57:49
13 Glen Kinning Kinning 00:58:07
14 Eileen Burns Ballymena 00:58:29
15= Bradley Turner Laois 00:58:50
15= Mark Miller Velo 00:58:50
17 Michael Reilly Cavan KR 00:59:06
18 Niall Brown Ards CC 00:59:42
19 Jason Henry Unattached 01:00:00
20 Ben Cady Velo Cafe 01:00:32
21 Graham McConnell Dromara 01:02:04
22 Michael Rowan Northern 01:02:23
23 Andrew Jess Ards CC 01:02:56
24 Mark Watson Ards CC 01:03:03
25 Andrew Evans Killinchy 01:03:18
26 Lisa Lamont Madigan 01:03:20
27 Colin McGready Cornerstone 01:04:33
28 Karen Hull Phoenix 01:05:50
29 Gillian Orr North Down 01:07:15
30 Nigel McCullough Banbridge 01:11:15
31 Darrell Erwin Ballymena 01:21:50
Paul Crossan Ards CC Dnf
Gerard McGuire Phoenix Dnf

Keith Philips (North Down) on his way to 6th overall


Gerald Maguire (Phoenix) turns on the speed


Willy Gill (Ards CC) always has time for a smile