Northern dominate the podium at Millisle

admin   August 4, 2015   Comments Off on Northern dominate the podium at Millisle

Northern Dave Kane dominated the podium in tonight’s 10 mile time trial with Mark Kane winning from brother Paul and David Fowler. It was a pleasant, sunny evening but there was a strong, offshore breeze that didn’t really help the riders in either direction, so the 21 minute times of the Kane brothers were particularly impressive.

Millisle1In the race to be top Ards rider, the early season rivalry between William Gill and Barry Mitchell was resumed. Barry improved his personal best by 10 seconds, but William was faster by four seconds on the night.

In the battle for the 10 mile time trial trophy, there were just 2 counting events this year. Paul Cunningham and Richard Hanna took a win each on handicap, so they will share the trophy.

Thanks to the marshals and timekeepers. And as the evenings start to draw in, remember it is a club rule that a rear red light should be used in time trials.

Finally, a reminder that the club BBQ is this weekend. If you’d like to go and haven’t yet signed up, please let Desi McIlwrath or Paul Cunningham know (via the Facebook link above) as soon as possible so that we can order the right amount of food. And a couple of requests –

  • Any offers to help with BBQing the meat on the day would be appreciated.
  • A couple of adult sized bikes in different sizes for the rollers would be good.
  • Any desserts would be appreciated (although I’m sure the racing men won’t be interested…)

Hope to see you there!

Name Club Time/Handicap
1 Mark Kane Northern 21.05
2 Paul Kane Northern 21.27
3 David Fowler Northern 22.39
4 Paul Swinnarton North Down 23.31
5 William Gill Ards CC 23.36  /  5pts
6 Barry Mitchell Ards CC 23.40  /  7pts
7 Mark Thomson North Down 23.52
8 Andrew Ferguson Castlereagh 24.29
9 Michael Riddell North Down 24.46
10 Geoff Brennan Ards CC 25.08  /  3pts
11 Paul Cunningham Ards CC 25.17  /  10pts
12 Mark Hodgins North Down 26.13
13 Brian Wylie Castlereagh 26.18
14 Alan Rodgers unattached 26.3
15 Colin Wilson Ards CC 27.04  /  2pts