Great turnout for Champion of Champions 25 (photos added)

admin   May 17, 2015   Comments Off on Great turnout for Champion of Champions 25 (photos added)
Martin Sherry's starting effort

Martin Sherry’s starting effort

Martin Sherry’s (Emyvale) long journey paid off when he won today’s Champion of Champion’s 25 mile time trial on the classic Portaferry Road course. On a cold morning, with a rising westerly wind, Chris Boardman’s 49 minute course record was never in danger, but Martin’s time of 55:00 gave him a clear margin over Sean McIntyre (Orchard Wheelers) in second place with 55:48, and local man Paul Crossan (Killinchy CC) in third with 56:37.


Paul Crossan looks aerodynamic standing still

First Lady Eileen Burns








There was a good turnout of women, with Eileen Burns (Ballymena RC) fastest in a very impressive time of 59:22. Top Junior was Jody Evans (Spires) with 1:01:32.

Fastest Ards CC rider was new comer Barry Mitchell with 1:00:50 in his first race at this distance. It surely won’t be long before he dips under the hour for the first time.


Second lady Judith Russell


First Ards CC rider Barry Mitchell







Thanks to time keepers Dany Blondell and Paul Robinson, to Desi McIlwrath and his team of marshals and to pusher off David McCann.

And there are lots of more great photos from David McVeigh here.

Name Club Time Cat
1 Martin Sherry Emyvale 0:55:00
2 Sean McIntyre Orchard Whlrs 0:55:48
3 Paul Crossan Killinchy 0:56:37
4 Ian Inglis Curran 0:56:56
5 Kevin Lynch Newry 0:57:16
6 Mark Brown Phoenix 0:57:34
7 Barry Hayes Island Whlrs 0:57:36
8 Jason Burns Ballymena 0:58:27
9 Ben Delaney Black Rose Racing 0:58:49
10 Brendan Duff Dromara 0:59:10
11 Stuart Scott Madigan 0:59:21
12 Eileen Burns Ballymena 0:59:22 Lady
13 Keith Philips North Down 0:59:31
14 Andrew Reid CCT 0:59:46
15 Barry Mitchell Ards CC 1:00:50
16 James Gault Phoenix 1:00:54
17 Gerard Maguire Phoenix 1:00:55
18 Jody Evans Spires 1:01:32 Jun
19 William Gill Ards CC 1:01:58
20 Barry Kevett Dromara 1:02:04
21 Dessie Smyth Carn Whlrs 1:02:10
22 Daniel Daly Phoenix 1:02:25
23 Paul Swenarton North Down 1:03:00
24 John McAuley Apollo 1:03:07
25 Mark Watson Ards CC 1:03:16
26 Robin Millar Ards CC 1:03:20
27 Mark Short Phoenix 1:04:09
28 Judith Russell Phoenix 1:04:34 Lady
29 Raphael Scullion Spires 1:05:53
30 Andrew Macaulay Madigan 1:06:29
31 Keri Parton Dromara 1:07:00 Lady
32 Gareth Woodall Dromara 1:07:03
33 GrahamMcConnell Dromara 1:07:39
34 Colin Wilson Ards CC 1:08:22
35 William Orr Ards CC 1:08:25
36 Gillian Orr North Down 1:09:29 Lady
37 Cheryl Cardwell Island Whlrs 1:11:40 Lady