Kirk Eliminates his Rivals at Kirkistown

admin   April 23, 2024   Comments Off on Kirk Eliminates his Rivals at Kirkistown

The top three Ards CC riders on the night showed their intent from the start

Tonight’s first round of the Ards CC/North Down Inter Club League was an elimination road race hosted by Ards CC at Kirkistown race circuit. This was a new venture for the club, and it turned out to be a fascinating tactical battle. The 34 starters were handicapped into 3 groups, and after 6 laps (20 minutes) of racing the last rider to cross the line in each group on each lap was eliminated. Some riders chose to attack, whereas others played a cagier game in the middle of the bunch. The bunches had all merged by half distance, and as the speed and the cold took their toll it seemed that some riders were almost hoping to be eliminated. This certainly made the judges job easier. After 50 minutes there were 13 riders left and the bell was rung for the final lap. In the charge for the line, Kirk Sloan (North Down CC) rolled back the years to take the win from the Spellman-Dublin Port duo of Stephen Hanna and Peter Elliott.

The top four sprint for the win

Name Club ICL points
1 Kirk Sloan North Down CC 20
2 Stephen Hanna Spellman Dublin Port
3 Peter Elliott Spellman Dublin Port
4 James Alexander McConvey Cycles
5 Luke Joyce North Down CC 19
6 William Larmour North Down CC 18
7 Ben Healey Ards CC 17
8 Ian Carson Ards CC 16
9 Jemma Speers North Down CC 15
10 Barry Mitchell Ards CC 14
11 Glen Curry North Down CC 13
12 Stuart Millar Ards CC 12
13 Mark McGrady Crossgar CC
14 Anthony Wylie Dromara CC
15 Daniel McManus Ards CC 11
16 Gareth McBride North Down CC 10
17 Peter Hanley North Down CC 10
18 Paul Kirk North Down CC 10
19= Matthew Ormesher North Down CC 10
19= Dean Bradley Ards CC 10
19= Richard Hanna Ards CC 10
19= Alex Bell North Down CC 10
23 James Lemon Ards CC 10
24= Graeme Brown Ards CC 10
24= Jonathan Taylor North Down CC 10
26= Andrew Jess Ards CC 10
26= Carl King Crossgar CC
26= Yesten Smith North Down CC 10
26= RonnieĀ  Smyth Dromara CC
26= James Dane Dromore CC
31= Simon Reardon North Down CC 10
31= Gordon McEwen Ards CC 10
33 Adrian Moore North Down CC 10
? David Forbes Crossgar CC

Well done to the Ards CC Committee for trying something new and thanks to all who helped to run the event, and to all those who rode. We’ll have to work out how to communicate more effectively with the bunch for next time.

The next event in the ICL is a 5 mile time trial on the Orlock/Groomsport course next Wednesday evening – don’t miss it!