Stuart takes 5 mile trophy

admin   August 22, 2023   Comments Off on Stuart takes 5 mile trophy

In spite of the pleasant conditions just six riders completed tonight’s club time trial  – a five on the rolling Ballygowan course. Fastest was Stuart Millar (Ards CC), who was almost a minute ahead of James Alexander (McConvey Cycles), with Richard Hanna (Ards CC) a further minute back.

No. Name Club Time H’Cap HC Pts
1 Stuart Millar Ards CC 12:16  -47  10
2 James Alexander McConvey Cycles 13:08
3 Richard Hanna Ards CC 14:08  -105  7
4 Mark Watson Ards CC 14:12  -186  2
5 Andrew Jess Ards CC 14:13  -119  5
6 Colin Wilson Ards CC 15:40  -169  3

Stuart also won on handicap, and adding this to his handicap win in the first 5 mile TT back in April, this gives him overall victory in the 5 Mile Handicap Cup.

Thanks to the marshals, time keepers and pusher off. Next week is the final club race of the season – the Bradshaw’s Brae hill climb. Note the earlier start time of 6.30pm. We’ve also got the Tour of Strangford Sportive coming up on Sunday 10th September and the rescheduled Champion of Champions 25 now likely to be 24th September (date to be confirmed). More details to follow.

Stuart powers to victory

Andrew’s choice of single speed was fine on the flatter outward leg of the course..

James Alexander

Richard Hanna

Mark Watson

Mark Watson

Colin Wilson

Colin Wilson