Frazer wins classic Decathlon B’Twin Tour of Ards

admin   March 22, 2014   Comments Off on Frazer wins classic Decathlon B’Twin Tour of Ards

Frazer Duncan wins the 2014 Decathlon B’Twin Tour of Ards

Frazer Duncan (Dave Kane) won today’s Decathlon B’Twin Tour of Ards in a sprint from Daniel Stewart (Audi East Antrim) and Peter Hawkins (Madison Genesis) after 100km of tough racing around the Ards Peninsula.

A full field of 80 riders set off in dry conditions, but there was a cold westerly breeze. Fortunately the rain held off until after the finish.

Riders assemble at the race HQ

Riders assemble at the race HQ

The first real split was established as the riders reached the outside of the peninsula after 20 miles. A group of 7 riders were about 40 seconds clear of a chasing group by Ballyhalbert, with the main bunch a further 15 seconds back.

Frazer drives the break out of Abbacy Road

The tough Mountain Road/Loughdoo Road circuit at the bottom of the peninsula saw some further sorting out. As the riders headed north again for the finish, a group of 6 strong men had emerged – Frazer, Daniel, Peter, Ronan McLaughlin (Dig Deep), Conor McConvey (Baku) and the ever green Mark Kane (Dave Kane).

Mark Kane pushes the pace into Loughdoo Road

Mark attached coming out of Kircubbin, and held a good gap for 3 miles before being caught again. Next to have a go was Daniel, and he still held a small lead as the riders rounded the last corner onto the finishing straight. Only Frazer had the strength to get past him as they all raced for the line. Peter was third, followed by Ronan, Connor and Mark.

Marc Potts (CT Tomac) led in the chasing bunch 2 and a half minutes later, well clear of Brian Stewart (Phoenix CC) who took the first unplaced vet prize.

David McKnight (TVR) was 9th, and first unplaced second cat, with Luke Hyland (TVR) 13th and first unplaced third cat, and Evan Donaghue (Four Masters) 11th overall and first junior.

Ian Carson upheld local honour with the first unplaced Ards rider award, and Des Woods (Maryland Wheelers) won the most aggressive rider award.

First 3 overall

From left – Desi McIlwrath (club President), John Brown (representing the Brown family who presented the Tommy Brown memorial winners trophy), Peter Hawkins (3rd), Frazer Duncan (Winner), Daniel Stewart (3rd) and Jim Shannon (local MP)

Thanks to all the people who helped out on the day –

  1. The police, for an excellent job marshalling the event.
  2. The St.Johns Ambulance
  3. The commissaires, time keepers, judges, marshals, neutral service crews, drivers, barrier erectors, etc.
  4. The tea ladies for a great spread after the event.
  5. St Patrick’s for the loan of their hall
  6. And of course to Decathlon/B’Twin – our sponsor, for the great prize list and displays.


Place Rider Club Time
1 Frazer Duncan Dave Kane 2:36:57
2 Daniel Stewart Audi East Antrim CC 2:36:57
3 Peter Hawkins Madison Genesis (GB) 2:36:57
4 Ronan McLaughlin Dig Deep 2:36:57
5 Connor McConvey Baku 2:36:57
6 Mark Kane Dave Kane 2:36:57
7 Marc Potts CT Tomac (Belgium) 2:39:35
8 Brian Stewart Phoenix CC 2:39:35
9 David McKnight TVR 2:39:35
10 John Neill Team Madigan 2:39:35
11 Evan Donaghue Four Master 2:39:35
12 Damian Lagan North Pole Donegal 2:39:35
13 Luke Hyland TVR 2:39:35
14 David Neill Team Madigan 2:39:35
15 John McGlaughlin Cookstown CT 2:39:35
16 Greg McCauley Nicholas Roche Junior 2:39:35
17 William Loughridge Ballymena RC 2:39:35
18 Bobby Kane Bann Wheelers 2:39:35

Dave Kane team of Mark Kane, Frazer Duncan and Adam Armstrong