Speed in the rain

admin   April 27, 2021   Comments Off on Speed in the rain

There was quite a difference between Millisle beach tonight and Copacabana beach featured in last week’s post. After weeks of dry sunny weather, the rain lashed down on this evening’s 10 mile time trial and there was a strong headwind on the return leg.

In spite of the conditions, several riders recorded personal bests. Fastest was Peter McLean with an excellent time of 21:43. Barry Mitchell was second fastest Ards rider, and took the win on handicap.

It was great to see a number of members taking part in their first club time trial. Special mention to Phil Doyle, Andrew McCullough, Karl Rockett and Chloe Deyermond, who all achieved Silver in the club medal scheme, and Glenn Curry, James Cairnduff and Anthony Day who achieved Bronze. You can find out more about the club medal standards here. There’s plenty to aim for!

The club 10s count towards two club trophies. First, there is the 10 mile handicap trophy. Each rider’s time is compared to their personal best, and the rider who improves most (or goes back least) wins. The top 6 in each 10 mile time trial get points, and the rider with most points wins the trophy. (If you haven’t previously ridden one of our club 10s, I’ve marked you as npt=no previous time. You can start scoring in the next 10). Barry Mitchell takes an early lead in this trophy.

The second trophy is the McFarlane Trophy. This is worked out on a scratch basis across all club 10 and 25 mile time trials. The fastest six in each event score points. Peter McLean takes an early lead in this trophy.

Here are the full results from tonight. If you see any mistakes, please let us know.

No Name Club Time H’Cap HC Pts McF pts
1 Peter McLean Ards CC 21:43 +24 7 10
2 Luke Joyce Bike House 22:56
3 Daniel Daly Phoenix 23:12
4 Barry Mitchell Ards CC 23:15 +25 10 7
5 Kieran McKenna U/A 23:17
6 Nathan McKeown D Morrissey 23:22
7 Phil Doyle Ards CC 24:17 npt 3
8 Andrew McCullough Ards CC 24:18 npt 5
9 Marc Allen Ards CC 24:29 -53 2
10 Ben Healey Ards CC 24:41 -21 2 1
11 Enda Marron Northern 25:28
12 Michael Rowan Northern 25:34
13 Dean Bradley Ards CC 25:43 +22 5
14 Andrew Jess Ards CC 25:45 -99
15 James Lemon Ards CC 25:54 -78
16 Glenn Curry Ards CC 26:00 npt
17 Anthony Day Ards CC 26:15 npt
18 William Orr Ards CC 26:17 -1 3
19 Scott Maitland Killinchy 26:18
20 Karen Hull Phoenix 26:49
21 Steve Core Ards CC 27:02 -47 1
22 Karl Rockett Ards CC 27:09 npt
23 Alan Rodgers Ards CC 27:23 -102
24 James Cairnduff Ards CC 27:31 npt
25 Chloe Deyermond Ards CC 27:33 npt
26 Colin Wilson Ards CC 27:52 -161
27 Alastair Martin Ards CC 33:57
Johnny Adams Killinchy DNS

A very special thanks to the marshals, time keepers and photographers tonight who had to put up with fairly biblical conditions. Very much appreciated. There are pictures on the club facebook page.

And please note – you must enter in advance for club races, and entry closes at 6pm on the previous evening.