Award winners – the full list

admin   October 31, 2018   Comments Off on Award winners – the full list

Thanks to all those who supported the Club Awards dinner last Saturday – it was a great night.

For the record, here’s a complete list of the award winners and some photos from Bernard.

John Rafferty had a great year, and picked up the award for “most awards”…


Trophy Winner
5 Mile T.T. Handicap Alan Rodgers
10 Mile T.T. Handicap Peter McErlane
25 Mile T.T. Handicap Barry Mitchell
Road Race Handicap Ricky Topping
Circuit Time Trials Andrew Hedley
Magreechan Cup John Rafferty
Hill Climb Trophy Gareth Murray
Bradshaw’s Brae Willy Gill
Henderson Cup – Senior B.A.R. John Rafferty
Hudson Shield – Open B.A.R. None
Schoolboy B.A.R. None
Vets’ B.A.R. John Rafferty
Club Support Gavin McBride
McFarlane Cup John Rafferty
Henderson Shield John Rafferty
Killarn Cup – 10k Handicap Alan Rodgers
Millennium Cup Karl Rockett
Billy Boal Memorial Ricky Topping
Best 10k John Rafferty
Simon Hamill Shield Karl Rockett

Gavin McBride was a deserved winner of the Club Support Trophy, presented to the club by top coach and time keeper Jimmy Thompson to recognise “enthusiasm, determination and club spirit”.


Type Name Distance Time
Super Gold John Rafferty 5 miles 11:23
Super Gold John Rafferty 10 miles 22:11
Super Gold John Rafferty 25 miles 56:06
Gold Barry Mitchell 25 miles 59:38
Silver James Lemon 5 miles 12:24
Silver James Lemon 10 miles 24:36
Silver James Lemon 25 miles 1:02:37
Silver Mark Allen 25 miles 1:02:17
Silver Peter McErlane 5 miles 12:58
Bronze Gary Stevenson 10 miles 27:17

Karl Rockett picked up the Millennium Cup, presented to the club by Brendan and Bronagh Kirk to recognise the most promising underage rider, and the Simon Hamill Shield, in memory of Regent House pupil Simon for best Ards rider in the underage events at the Town Centre Races.


Name Year best 5 Year Best 10 Year best 25 Year best 10k
Alan Rodgers 00:13:09 00:25:50 01:07:20 00:14:20
Andrew Jess 00:12:21 00:24:52 01:03:06 00:14:28
Barry Mitchell 00:24:02 00:59:38
Colin Wilson 00:13:12 00:26:41 01:08:16 00:15:24
Dean Bradley 00:27:32
Gary Stevenson 00:27:17
James Lemon 00:12:24 00:24:36 01:02:37 00:13:23
John Rafferty 00:11:23 00:22:11 00:56:06 00:12:29
Joshua Porter 00:15:00
Mark Allen 01:02:17
Mark Watson 01:01:42
Michael Price 00:13:05 01:04:29
Niall Brown 00:12:39 00:24:17 01:01:59
Peter McErlane 00:12:58 00:27:02
Richard Hanna 00:12:44 01:04:58
Robin Millar 00:12:31 00:23:43 01:01:19 00:13:36
Roman Sarvas 00:12:41 01:02:44 00:14:12
William Gill 01:03:17
William Orr 00:26:17 00:15:02

Peter McErlane won the Weir Perpertual Challenge Cup, presented to the club by William Weir from Kircubbin. This is one of the oldest trophies in the club – it was first awarded in 1948, and has been won by many top riders over the years, including Billy Kirk in 1959 – a year when he also won NI and Irish titles and represented Ireland at the World Championships in Amsterdam. No pressure Peter :-)