Paul Kennedy wins Champion of Champions – more photos added and Darell Erwin’s time corrected

admin   August 12, 2018   Comments Off on Paul Kennedy wins Champion of Champions – more photos added and Darell Erwin’s time corrected

<More photos from Stephen McKee here>

Paul receives the trophy from time keeper Darren Colville


In spite of continuous light rain, conditions were warm, calm and fast for this morning’s Champion of Champions 25 mile time trial. Winner Paul Kennedy (Newcastle West) recorded 53:00, just 4 seconds slower that last year’s winner Craig McAuley (Caldwell Cycles). He was 15 seconds ahead of Lindsay Watson (Powerhouse), with Ian Inglis (Black Rose) rounding out the podium with 54:47.

Starting effort from Eileen Burns

Gillian Orr at the finish









In the woman’s category Eileen Burns (Ballymena), recently returned from international duty at the European Championships in Glasgow, took the win. Her time of 58:43 was just 14 seconds slower than her winning time last year. Second was Gillian Orr (North Down).



In the hand cycle category, Darell Erwin(Ballymena) took the win, just catching his rival Jim Corbett (Banbridge) for a minute on the finish line.

Some of the early starters

Third place Ian Inglis rode fixed

Second place Lindsay Watson used a special skin suit design to try and confuse radar detectors…










John Rafferty was first Ards CC rider


Starting effort from Greg Swinand (Vine Caremark). Reports from the course suggest he was about 30 seconds up on eventual winner Paul Kennedy at the turn, but unfortunately he punctured on the return leg. Maybe next year..













Thanks as always to the marshals, time keepers and pusher off who made the event possible, and for all the riders who help to make this event special.

Here’s the full result for the open race. The results from the club 25, and the latest standings in the Ards CC club trophy competitions will follow in a separate post.

  Name Club Time
1 Paul Kennedy Newcastle West 0:53:00
2 Lindsay Watson Powerhouse 0:53:15
3 Ian Inglis Black Rose 0:54:47
4 John Madden Inspired 0:55:46
5 Stephen Colbert  Ballymena 0:56:18
6 Keith Philips North Down 0:56:27
7 Liam Dolan Cuchualain 0:56:38
8 John Rafferty Ards CC 0:56:39
9 Garret Fitzgerald VC Glendale 0:56:55
10 Adam Skeet Northern 0:57:43
11 Glenn Kinning Kinning 0:58:12
12 Eileen Burns Ballymena 0:58:43
13 Graham McConnell Dromara 0:59:51
14 Mark Watson Ards CC 1:01:42
15 Mark Allen Ards CC 1:02:17
16 Andrew Jess Ards CC 1:03:06
17 Peadar Curran Banbridge 1:06:49
18 Gillian Orr North Down 1:08:38
19 Darell Erwin Ballymena 1:26:22
20 Jim Corbett Banbridge 1:27:23
Greg Swinand Vine Caremark DNF

Daryll receives his prize

Eileen receives her prize


In spite of moving the start forward to 9.30am this year, there was still a lot of traffic on the course. Things weren’t help by a vintage tractor event in Greyabbey this weekend. We might need to look at this for next year…